AfriSam honours its top suppliers

12 May 2014

AfriSam honoured its top suppliers at the 8th annual Suppliers’ Awards, an event which recognises those who provide an excellent service to the company throughout the year.

The awards thank and reward suppliers for their superior performance, reliability and quality – principles encouraged and practiced by AfriSam in its efforts to remain the customer of choice for its suppliers.

This year thirteen winners were acknowledged as suppliers to AfriSam’s different business units and regions according to specific categories and then rated against criterias considered critical to AfriSam’s business imperatives.

“Every supplier of AfriSam forms a critical part of the day-to-day operation of our business and is regarded by AfriSam as strategic business partners to ensure the future growth and success of our company. We utilise the Suppliers Awards function to recognise those suppliers who have excelled in their service delivery to AfriSam”, says Calie Ehrke, Supply Chain manager at AfriSam.

AfriSam has over 3 000 vendors and each plays an important role in the successful running of the business.

“We consider a range of criteria that vary from total spend to B-BBEE status, from safety records to quality of service or product, from contribution to our brand to pricing policies and future market trends, to mention just a few,” adds Ehrke.

Linde Materials Handling (Pty) Ltd was recognised as most improved key supplier of the year, with Insimbi Alloys Suppliers (Pty) Ltd taking the key supplier of the year award.

BEE Supplier of the year award went to Saflog Consulting Services (Pty) Ltd, and IIca Trading (Pty) Ltd took the SME/QSE Supplier of the year crown.

Cement transporters, Klipstone Transport (Pty) Ltd, dominated the Transporter category by receiving a special award for improving their BEE status by 51% over the last year. They also took home the cement branded transporter of the year award.

Other winners in the transporter category for branded cement fleets included Long Distance Dedicated Contracts (Swaziland) for the safety award, Unitrans Freight (Pty) Ltd for corporate identity, and Cargo Carriers (Bloemfontein) for service delivery. Third-party transporter of the year was awarded to Interfreight Vervoer, with Patrick John Borman taking the readymix transporter of the year.

Of the AfriSam internal teams recognised, the Gauteng Procurement Team took best improvement award, and the Accounts Payable team won the award for above-average performance.

CAPTION FOR PHOTGRAPH 2014 SUPPLIER AWARDS PIC 01 : From left Nico Gerber, Cargo Carriers; Bradley Herbert, AfriSam; Tiaan Parkin, Interfreight Vervoer; Phil de Wet, Linde Materials Handling; Pieter Schutte, Insimbi Alloys; Stephan Olivier, AfriSam; Roy Padayachee, Klipstone Transport; Dean Leggat, Klipstone Transport; Patrick Borman, Patrick John Borman, Thami Gwala, Saflog Consulting Services and Calie Ehrke, AfriSam.

More information from Jackie Mapiloko, Tel: +27 (0)11 670 5519 / [email protected]

Read the latest issue

Latest Issue