CESA Aon Engineering Excellence Awards 2017 winners announced

21 August 2017

Consulting Engineers South Africa (CESA) supported by Aon South Africa has celebrated the 2017 CESA Aon Engineering Excellence Awards, which recognize outstanding achievements in the engineering industry in innovation, quality, outstanding workmanship and professionalism.

Lynne Pretorius, President of CESA states, “Given the pivotal role that CESA members have in the South African society and economy, these awards are about thanking all the participants for the role you play in our country’s growth.  Most of all, the winning projects show us that South Africa still has so much to deliver and offer to its citizenry.”

The winners are:

Young Engineer of the Year is Jabulile Msiza from Jones & Wagener with Catherine Blerch from Aurecon and Pieter Crous from SMEC both receiving commendations.

The category for Engineering Excellence with a value greater than R250 million was won by Aurecon for the Mall of Africa for Atterbury Property. Aecom was awarded a commendation for the Acid Mine Drainage project for TCTA. Another commendation was awarded to Royal HaskoningDHV for Provincial Main Road 577 for the KwaZulu Natal Department of Transport.

The category for Engineering Excellence with a value between R50 million and R250 million was won by Neil Lyners and Associates for the L’ormarins Hydro Power Project. Commendations were awarded to Aurecon for the Stortemelk Hydropower Plant for Stortemelk Hydro (RF) Property Limited and Bosch Projects for Special Maintenance of N2 Section 11 for SANRAL.

The category for Engineering Excellence with a value less than R50 million, was won by Fellow Consulting for Malapa Fossils for Wits University. Bigen Africa received a commendation for the Water Reclamation Plant at the BRP Mine for Royal Bafokeng Platinum and Aecom also received a commendation for the Plankenburg Main Outfall for Stellenbosch Municipality.

In the category of Best International Project, sponsored by the Built Environment Professionals Export Council (BEPEC), a commendation was awarded to Aurecon for the Mzingani Sea wall in Zanzibar.

Nyeleti Consulting won the Business Excellence category withKnight Piésold receiving a commendation. Bigen Africa won the Mentoring Company of the Year, sponsored by Bosch Holdings. Cornelius van der Wath from Matleng Energy Solutions is the Mentor of the Year. Tongaat Hulett is the Visionary Client of the Year.

In recognition of the role that the media plays in the industry, 3S Media received recognition for Publishing Excellence: Trade Publications and Independent Newspapers received recognition for Publishing Excellence: Daily Newspapers.

UWP Consulting was announced as the winner of the CESA Job Shadow Initiative with Infraconsultas the 1st runner’s up andBigen Africa as2nd runner’s respectively. CESA’s Eastern Cape’s Port ElizabethBranch was named winner of the Branch of the Year Award.  

More information at

Read the latest issue

Latest Issue