Kenya constructing 20 dams in Mount Kenya region

16 November 2016

The government will build 20 dams in Mount Kenya region, water and irrigation cabinet secretary Eugene Wamalwa has announced.

He said that four dams in Meru County which will tap water from Mount Kenya forest are under construction.

In Isiolo County, construction of the Crocodile Jaws Dam at a total cost of US$7,8bn is progressing and will serve Laikipia, Isiolo and Samburu counties, he said.

The CS stated that building of two mega dams worth Sh13bn is under way in Nyeri county. Naromoru Dam will be built in Kieni East and Karemenu Dam in Kieni West.

He also said in the neighbouring Laikipia East constituency, Wiyumiririe and Kahurura dams are scheduled to commence.

While in Tetu, Nyeri County Mr. Wamalwa said five other dams are on-going in Embu County, one in Tharaka-Nithi, three in Nyandarua and one in Murang’a county.

He said the ventures have been introduced to alleviate challenges of climate change, help growing populace and contribute to the country’s water storage.

Read the latest issue

Latest Issue